Half Term – and Writing

We’re having a lovely half term! Those of you who follow me on Facebook will have seen our photos of fossil hunting the other day, and today we went to the Kent Festival of Science. K and R had a great time making little generators to power light bulbs (while I watched in suitable amazement!) and we saw several talks and did some other activities. All great fun! K’s godmother and my best friend are coming round tomorrow and we’re going to a local church to see the war memorial as part of K’s homework. Her class and another have been invited to take part in the commemoration this year on Remembrance Sunday.

I’ve signed up for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) where the aim is to write a novel of at least 50,000 words during the month of November. A novelist friend of mine has been encouraging me to do this for a few years now and this year I have finally said yes I’ll do it – though I have to say, with some degree of trepidation!

How I’m ever going to manage it I know not. However I do have an idea, so will go with that. And it should be fun – there’s a write-in on Monday 3rd in a local coffee shop and I’ve booked the day off work as annual leave and will be going along to meet some of my local fellow Nano-ers.

I had a little practice last week when (again at my friend’s suggestion) I took part in Novel in a Day, something I’d never heard of before. You register on the site and then you’re given a brief and some characters and you have to write a chapter of 1,500 words minimum based around what you’re given, without knowing everything of what came before, apart from what the organisers tell you. It was great fun I have to say and I really enjoyed it. There were 48 of us across the world, so for the first time they split us into two groups and allocated the same chapters to two sets of people, so there are now two books online somewhere with the same story but written in two different ways. You’re given the brief at midnight and have to return the chapter by 8pm where it’s all put together and produced before midnight the same day.

Quite exciting!

I’ll let you know how I’m doing when I can, or at the end of November.

As well as that, I’m giving a talk to our archaeological group at the November meeting, so am preparing that too. It’s on some of our local street names and how they are so named. It’s been really interesting researching that; there’s a lot more still to find out but I’m sharing the slot with other speakers so am keeping it short-ish.

Busy little me! Hope that you’re all well.

xx

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

