Catching Up

I don’t know where the time goes! This is the last school holiday now before the last part of the term leading up to the summer break – and then Katy will be leaving Year 1. She will be six years old at 3.10pm on 3rd June. Six!! She has grown from a lovely, chuckly baby into a kind, caring girl, full of fun and laughter and an occasional bit of mischief! We love her to bits.

She loves drawing with a passion, and in my next post I’ll scan in one of her drawings so that you can see it. She’s going to a friend’s birthday party tomorrow – a dancing party, which is appropriate because she’s joined two after-school clubs this year. One is dancing and the other is athletics, which she also loves. She was the only one attending that a couple of weeks ago so they included her in the rugby class for older children and she scored two trys! (I think that’s how you spell the rugby ones but I stand corrected if not). She enjoyed running and dodging past the bigger children, and has been practising with us at home.

Last Christmas she asked whether she could adopt a snow leopard, so we did that through the David Shepherd Foundation, and she’s very proud of that. For her birthday she’s asked to adopt a polar bear, and he and his certificate, photo and magazine etc are on their way to us now. She was going to invite half a dozen friends to have a party at home this year (following last year’s epic 28-children fun at Polar Adventure in the leisure centre!) but when she started her list and reached 18 she said that she loved everybody in her class and couldn’t leave anyone out. So we’re having the party at a place called Kikiland, where she will become Queen. She’, s been to a party there before and it’s very well run, with lots of fun for the children and a coffee shop for the parents who wish to stay.

There are also separate areas in the room in case any children would prefer to do quiet activities such as drawing or reading or having their faces painted.

And I think that the most popular part will be the chocolate volcano, conjured up by the big Kikibird. So, a great time to look forward to! Then on her birthday itself her lovely cousins will be able to join us, and Nanny P and Nanny M for a birthday tea after school.

As for the rest of us, R is still involved with the archaeology group, as am I, and we still have our allotment – just about; it’s been neglected this winter/spring but we’re working hard on it now and it’s looking a lot better and planted up with some veg and a huge patch of strawberries. Strawberries and cream, and then strawberry jam making, here we come!

I’m still at work but part-time, and have applied for a job share at a higher grade – it will be less hours but longer days, so that means that I can have an extra day off each fortnight. Hopefully I’ll break even financially as well, so it will be good all round! I haven’t gone back to editing any of my short stories which have been languishing on the computer for months now; I just don’t have enough time to do them justice.

I’ve been on the school’s Parents and Friends’ Association since Katy started in Reception, and on Thursday I was there helping with their Guide Dog day – the children walked/ran round the field to raise money, hopefully enough for the school to adopt its own Guide Dog. Katy raised £35 thanks to family and neighbours. Then in the morning I helped three classes with activities set up by the Guide Dog Association, who’d brought along blindfolds white sticks and ten things for the children to try. In the morning I was on the ‘pour water into a glass’ table, first without the sensors and then with (nicely messy!) and in the afternoon Richard took over that one and I had the ‘make a jam sandwich’ with blindfolds on – even more messy! I didn’t go home after that because we ran a film night, so I was at the school from 9 until 5, just walking home for lunch and back again. Afterwards I walked about half a mile to vote and then back home. My feet were singing a happy tune!

It was a great day! And I can see just how hard teachers work. They have my utmost respect.

xx

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

