155

Well today was good – we went with R’s Mum to see the Tutankhamun exhibition at the Dome.  You might well be wondering, where are my Mum and Dad in all this to-ing and fro-ing?  Well I did ask if they’d like to come too, and also my brother and partner, but they all declined.  M & D (and probably D) remembered the time when we went before at theBritishMuseum, and we had a queue that lasted for about 3½ hours and people kept pushing in.  Then we had to shuffle round the exhibits and if you saw the ones in the middle you didn’t get the chance to go back and see the ones on the walls! 

It was a good exhibition, however, and we had timed tickets so although it was busy at least we didn’t have to queue for more than about 15 minutes and had time to find somewhere to eat and drink beforehand.  It was impressively staged, but there were about 12 people to each exhibit so in order to read everything and see it properly took a bit of time and patience.  But I’m really glad that we went.  I think, judging by all the adverse comment at the time, that I must be the only person in the whole world who just loves the Dome!  Everybody (certainly in the media) seems to moan about it, but I think that it’s beautiful.

R and I went in 2000 just before it was closing, and there was a shop selling memorabilia.  I bought everyone (and us) a present including biscuits in Dome-shaped tins (I know, I shouldn’t, but I feel mean if I don’t).  On the way to the checkout was a big basket of fridge magnets with the Dome inside them, being sold for half price at 50p.  I was going to grab half a dozen because they were lovely, but was burdened down with tins and R was tutting already so just bought one for us.  Of course, other people have seen it and want one now!  And do you think that I can get my hands on any more?  Not even on the internet!

After one of my work trips toLondonI caught the train toGreenwichand went to the Dome hoping to find the shop – but everything was closed, and I couldn’t get near.

Surely I’d be triumphant today, there’d be Dome memorabilia everywhere!  But no – not a single thing.

I so wish that I’d just bought them when I saw them; mine is remarked on just about every time they visit.

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

