162

163 Sunday

Took R’s Mum to the garden centre, and then back to us for the day, so didn’t have time to come to the computer.

 

 

162 Monday

Just back from work but will have to stop soon to get the tea ready.  Back to our story, if I can fit some of it in before I have to go!  After so much waiting, and trying various things, including the ghastly Chinese herbs, we decided that perhaps it was time to call a halt.  Not just so that we could relax, along the lines of “My friend was trying for a baby for years and as soon as they stopped trying and went on holiday she fell pregnant” sort of calling a halt.  We’d tried that!  But I suppose that didn’t work because we had deliberately tried not to try!  You just have to laugh, don’t you?!  But we did go on holiday, and went to visit my penfriend in Oregon, USA.  We had been penpals ever since I was 14 and she was 15, and we’d kept in touch ever since; we might have been sporadic letter-writers as the years went by, but we always sent each other Christmas and birthday presents.

 

I had been to visit her twice before.  Once when I was 24, and it was my Really Big Adventure!  I’ll never forget her father saying to me how brave he thought I was, coming all that way by myself to stay with people I’d never met before.  “We could have been a load of drunks!” he said, and made me laugh.  That was the first time I’d ever flown – and it took five aeroplanes to take me there and get me back home again.

 

The next time I went it was when my penfriend had been married for about 4 years.  Again I was on my own, and it was great to meet her and her folks again, and her husband and they had arranged a flight in a balloon for me as a special treat.  It was fantastic!  But the happiness was short-lived – I’d only been home a week when she phoned me one morning to say that he had been killed in a car crash.  It was so tragic.  He had been so full of life, it was hard to believe.

 

Unfortunately the laws varied from one State to another, and in Oregon it was not illegal not to wear a seatbelt.  He hated having to wear his when we crossed the border into other States; he called it the hangman’s noose.  Sadly, if he had been wearing it that morning when he had the accident, he might still be alive today.

 

My friend had never re-married, and it had been many years since I had last seen her, and she had never met R so we were all looking forward to the meeting.

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

