182

Well I got home and boiled up the first of the seven bags that I’d been given.  The smell!  It was GHASTLY!!!!  I just can’t describe it; the all-pervading smell was of something really bitter, and it spread through the whole house.  I had to open the back door to let some of it out and let some fresh air in.

 

I strained off the liquid and let it cool.  It was dark brown.  When they were mostly dry I disposed of the herb remains by putting them back into the bag and then straight into the dustbin; I don’t think that they’d have been compostable as I’d cooked them and was afraid that they’d turn the compost acidic.

 

There was no putting off the evil moment any longer.  I had to drink the stuff!  I hoped that it would taste better than it smelled.  Here goes …….

 

Uuurrgghh.  I have to say that if it’s true that if medicine tastes bad it must be good for you, then this had to be the elixir of life, and I truly hoped that it would work.  I drained the glass down to the choking dregs and swiftly followed it with some plain water.  Then I set about opening windows in order to get rid of more of the smell before R came home.

 

Surely it just had to be worth it?  I hoped so – not only had I put my faith, hope and trust in it, I was going to have to do this every day without fail for the next five months. 

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

