243

244 Wednesday

We had a good day in London, but as I thought arrived home really late, so I didn’t add anything here last night.

 

 

243 Thursday

Ever regretted something?  I got up late this morning – I must have been so tired after yesterday’s excursion that I batted the alarm off while I was still asleep, without properly waking up.  It goes off at 10 to 6, and normally if I miss it Diesel will come prowling and asking for breakfast, but he didn’t so I slept soundly on until R’s alarm went off at 6.45! 

We were meant to be early today as he had to take the car some miles away for its service and MOT (which it passed, I’m pleased to say, though the service was a bit expensive as the windows had seized up and there were a couple of other things that needed doing).

Anyway, I did the cats’ brekkie, made us a hot drink and did R’s lunchbox.  I have the luxury of being able to use our staff canteen, so decided that I would treat myself to something hot there as a change from taking a packed lunch.

 

When I got to the front of the queue the vegetarian option was Roasted Vegetable Lasagne, and I asked for that.  I hadn’t tried that before, but have had their normal vegetable lasagne and it was one of my favourites.  It wasn’t actually lasagne this time though, it was on some kind of pastry base – not quite pastry and not quite pizza.  But it looked delicious, and I had some, along with some new potatoes and mixed vegetables.

 

Well, unfortunately the little sweetcorn cobs were a bit past their best, rather flabby and tasting peculiar.  There were only 4 of them and some carrots and little green beans.  I think that they must have been frozen, or maybe tinned; they had a certain flavour about them.  Not that I could realistically expect anyone to scrape carrots and top and tail beans and sweet corn for hundreds of people, of course!  But maybe they had been a bit overcooked; I don’t know.

 

And the main course was nice, at least the cheese and tomato sauce was nice, but I’m not so sure about the roasted vegetables, a lot of which were peppers and celery, and I have to admit that I had to leave some.  I hate wasting food, but I just couldn’t plod on with it.

I did eat all my potatoes, though!  But they were sort of hard going, and I nearly didn’t.  Did you watch the episode of Vicar of Dibley where Dawn had to eat about four dinners one Christmas, and we saw her trying to force a brussels sprout into her mouth with a fork?  That’s a bit how I felt with the potatoes!  They still had their skins on, and normally I like them like that but this time they weren’t quite the same as usual.  Maybe it was just me.

 

Anyway, I rather wish that I had just bought a cheese and tomato roll, and perhaps indulged in the fruit crumble and custard instead!  I don’t think that I need much tea tonight.

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

