256

Well that wasn’t very nice.  I’ve just been sent an e-mail by an acquaintance that started off in a beautiful way with flowers, and saying how blessed I was if I had a roof over my head and food in the fridge, etc, and how many people in the world were not so blessed, and how lucky I am not to be one of the billions who can’t see to read those words, have enough food to eat, have parents who were still alive etc – all true, and I’m not disputing the fact that yes, I am very lucky to be living the life that I have I the country that I’m in.

 

Unfortunately right at the end it said that I had so many blessings, but that blessings can’t stop with anyone unless I pass them on to others!!  Implying, of course, that if I don’t pass this chain e-mail on to my poor unsuspecting friends the blessings will all be withdrawn.

 

Well I could certainly do without incurring bad luck at the moment, but I had the choice.  Did I selfishly decide to protect myself and keep the blessings by passing the e-mail on to my friends?  Or did I decide to protect them from seeing it and being faced with the same dilemma?

 

Well, there was no choice.  I replied to the sender asking her as a friend not to send me any more of these things because I will not pass them on to my other friends and I will always delete them, so she will always be sending me bad luck of one sort or another.  I’ll be very wary of things coming from her direction – and others – from now on.

 

We might be in the 21st Century now, and superstition might not be as strong as it used to be, but these things are very unsettling and I don’t like them.  The ones promising endless wealth if I pass them on and abject poverty if I bin them are laughable, but the ones with implied threats in them like this are just despicable, and I deleted it without forwarding it to anybody.

 

Now I’m keeping my fingers crossed and hoping that Doom doesn’t come and get me …

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

