274

It was Diesel Day today – he had to go back to the vet for one of his 2-monthly allergy injections.  Actually it lasts for about 6 weeks and they say that it’s best if he can hang on for a bit longer between them, but this time he only managed 7 weeks.  They’re steroids and really do the trick, but as he gets older there is a chance that he might develop diabetes if he has too many, and that will mean two injections a day.  That will be me doing them of course, as we can’t take him to the vet twice a day for those, and I didn’t like doing the last lot, but if I have to I will.

 

Developing diabetes isn’t a certainty, apparently, but they have to warn us that it is a possibility, poor little furry soul.  All he wants is to eat, sleep, be stroked, play and sit in the sun!

 

They were running late tonight and I should have asked for the nurse when I booked the appointment – if you don’t specify they assume that you’re asking to see the vet, and they were really busy.  I’d just asked whether the nurse was free and could see us, after we’d waited 25 minutes, and one of the vets called us in.  Still it was a good thing because he was given a good going over and had his heart and lungs checked too, and all is fine, so that was reassuring.

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

