301

Everyone really is very kind, asking me how everything is going, but really there isn’t much that I can say at the moment.  People swoop up to me in Reception, with their faces eagerly alert for the latest news, and I just keep them going by say that things are progressing.

 

It’s difficult, because I don’t really want to keep talking about it to everyone, and yet I know that they are only asking because they care, and because they are hoping that everything works out for us.  Also, I don’t really want to talk about whatever stage we might have reached just yet, because if – and it is, as you know, a HUGE if – we are successful, R and I will tell our families first.

 

And, if we are not successful, I shall need some time to overcome my feelings before I’ll feel up to telling everyone – because I’ll have to keep repeating the story over and over.  I suppose I could phone one person the day before and ask her to spread the word around the whole building and ask them not to talk to me about it when they see me!  But it would be worse, having people skulking about trying not to mention it, or wondering whether to say that they were sorry to hear that we had failed again.  No, I’ll just face it, when the time comes.  If it comes.  When … If … 

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

