442

The meeting went well, though R had a surprise for the members – he said that, after 20 years of being Secretary and then Chairman, he would stand down at the next AGM.  He would serve this last year, which would give the rest of the membership time to think seriously about who would take over. 

There was stunned silence!  20 years is a long time, and he’s right when he said that all groups should have an influx of new ideas at the top from time to time, but even though I knew that he was going to say this, stupidly I suddenly felt quite bereft.  It has been him and me for so long!  He said that he would ‘let’ me continue as Secretary, for a few years, as I’d only been it for about 14 years, and it broke the ice and everybody laughed.

But still, it will be weird having a new Chairman.  If anybody does come forward – I think that most of them don’t expect him to have been serious, and I do wonder whether, if nobody does volunteer next April, he will just continue.

Did my potting-on and runner bean seed sowing.  Oh!  and planted two clumps of catmint, protected by old plastic-covered hanging baskets with leaves poking through.  The cats love them, and Diesel especially was in 7th heaven!

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

