441

One of our usual Sundays; R at the dig and me at the allotment.

There was some excitement on a nearby plot when someone saw a slow-worm run into her rhubarb patch, she thought that it was a snake but another plot-holder found it and showed her – and did the children come running!  She had two boys, about 8, and a girl of about 4.  A real nature lesson for them.

I had a look too; it was a beautiful creature with such a tiny little sweet face.  He released it back onto the plot and it slithered off into the compost heap.

Came home, had tea, went back to do the watering while R strimmed the grass, and our ‘neighbours’ arrived with their baby; he is only 6 days old and was having his first look at the allotment.

Sun setting, birds twittering, people stopping to chat, including us, with congratulations.  Six days old.  They are ‘starting him early’ and hope that he loves the allotment as much as they do.  I wondered whether anyone had said to them that they’d “have to give it up” when he was born.  One day I might ask them, but I couldn’t tonight.

Then we came away – and the car jumped on the spot and stopped!  I phoned my brother D for advice, and he came out to have a look, bless him…. it was a faulty battery connection lead, well corroded more like.  He fixed it so that it would get us home, and followed us to make sure that we were OK, and will come back tomorrow to put new connecting doo-dahs on.

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

