643

I’ve been mentioning, on and off, about how angry at myself I am that my parents do not have the joy of being grandparents, but haven’t said yet how I feel about the opposite side of that coin.  Just the same!  I wanted my children to have the fun of knowing all their grandparents – and they have already been denied the love of one, R’s wonderful Dad, who died in hospital (through their negligence, but I won’t go into that awful time) last year, on 30th December.

They should have had the chance to have known him for the first 10-12 years of their life, and the last 10-12 of his.

I want to have children soon so that they can have two Grandmums and one Grandad while they are all still here and able to play with them.  I believe that knowing older people is really good for young people, and to have three generations means that everyone can learn from each other – not only about life but about love, too.

The love that grandparents give children is different from that of a Mum and Dad, and I really wanted my children to know that, and grow up knowing where they had come from, to have a real connection with the past.

To be able to say, all through their lives, things like “My Nan used to say…” or “My Gran took me to…” or “My Grandad was a real character!” and then repeat some of the family sayings, said specially to make them laugh.  And they would be extra people who would love them and be proud of their drawings, to watch them in the Nativity play, to see them dance in the living room, to be part of the family and share in the family jokes and heritage and culture; people to remember always, who with us would teach them how to love and laugh and care for others.   

Somebody DO something!!  Panic….

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

