359

So am I just one of those ‘career women’ who have had spent years working her way up the ladder, and now decides that she wants a baby to complete her life, like an accessory?  No.  My working life has been just that; no career, years on the lowest pay, and the wish for my own children has always been there.

How did I manage to waste all those fertile years?  Well, in order to answer that I have to go back a bit.  When I was about 12 I’d said, in what I apparently assumed was a very grown-up voice, that I wasn’t going to get married and have children until I was 25, because I wanted to see the world first, but that when I did have children I was going to have five.  It was funny for some years, but now I can only smile wryly at the thought of it.

It was enough for me to go to school (and later college), come home and help at home with housework and gardening.  I wasn’t like everyone else; didn’t want to go out, didn’t want to go to parties.

And then, in my early 20s, once I had been at work for a couple of years, I joined a dancing club.  It was all very proper; we had instructors who taught us ballroom dancing, there were only soft drinks on sale, I joined in with a group and we all had great fun.  One or two people I had known at school were there too.

And I met a nice lad who gradually gained my trust.  Over the weeks we got to know each other, just as part of the group.  He still lived at home with his parents too, and spoke about them quite a bit.  It was not love at first sight, but he was good fun while not being overpowering; he was not the life and soul of the party but was friendly and kind.

After a while he asked me out and I took the plunge and we went on a date, down to the seaside. Nothing untoward happened; nothing frightening; just two friends out together sharing the world.  I relaxed and really enjoyed being with him…..

About Linda Weeks

About my life with the daughter I thought I'd never have - but I did, thanks to a wonderful anonymous egg donor, to whom I will be forever grateful. xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

